Cyclictych for oboe and piano

2011, ~7.5 minutes

Commissioned by Miriam Kapner

Movements I, II, III

Cyclictych 1 by nissim schaul Cyclictych 2 by nissim schaul Cyclictych 3 by nissim schaul

Cyclictych is an arrangement and recomposition of the 5th and 7th movements of the Wedge Miniatures. The Wedge Miniatures, which I wrote for oboe and piano, are very long when played together together, so I took this as an opportunity to "liberate" some of the music from the rest of that massive piece. The two movements I chose to rebuild also represent the beginning of the compositional path I've been following since 2007.

I started with two movements and ended with three: I decided to split the old 7th movement in two, putting one half at the beginning of the piece and the other half at the end. The result is sort of like a triptych (an association impossible to ignore when writing for the uber-religious organ), but cyclical instead of linear and narrative. The made-up word Cyclictych has a nice tripartite but cyclical look and sound, too

My special thanks to Miriam for requesting this work, and to Vincent Decleire for his help understanding the organ.


If you are interested in a score and parts for the Cyclictych, please contact Nissim.


  • November 12, 2011: World premiere by Miriam Kapner (oboe) and Frank Perko III (organ) at the First Plymouth Congregational Church in Englewood, CO (near Denver).
Contact Nissim Schaul